Re-read to remember

When he was a freshman in college, William Ickes heard that people forget about 80% of textbook material just a couple days after reading it. However if they reread it after a delay, they would remember about 50%. This gave him a simple strategy for doing well in college.

Probably like many people, I intuitively knew this and used to highlight important sentences as I read my texts so I could quickly skim through the attractive colors as I “re-read.” If I was using a previously owned and highlighted textbook I would simply use a different color for my own markings.

Leave a Reply

